Thursday, January 16, 2014

The Vanderbilt Cup and Mercedes Benz, 1904 and 1914

Champions: Mr. William K. Vanderbilt jr. at the wheel of his 40 hp Mercedes-Simplex. A helper starts the Mercedes with the starting crank
Records at the meeting in Ormond Daytona Beach, Florida/USA, 27 to 30 January 1904. At the off: subsequent winner William K. Vanderbilt jr. (starting number 1) at the wheel of a Mercedes 90 hp racing car.
nVanderbilt race on February 26, 1914, on the Santa Monica track near Los Angeles, California. The photo shows Ralph de Palma crossing the finishing line. He won the race in a 37/95 hp Mercedes racing car
Vanderbilt Cup near Los Angeles, 1914. Ralph de Palma at the wheel of his Mercedes racing car, chased presumably by Barney Oldfield in another Mercedes

No comments:

Post a Comment